Duration: 16 minutes

Scoring: 2 violins, viola, cello


Ang Cheng, David Coucheron, violins; Teng Li, viola; Angela Park, cello.

22 March 2002, The Curtis Institute of Music, Philadelphia, PA

Score Sample



Program Note

Written in 2000, my first quartet was the last work I composed in China prior to coming to the US to study at the Curtis Institute of Music. Although the work was not conceived to be programmatic in any specific sense, in retrospect, it vividly captured my state of mind of creating music at 18 years old – composing anything was an exhilarating experience, and I wanted to embed my love of music from the past, namely, music of Bach, Mozart, Debussy and Shostakovich, into my own work. The piece, consisting of three movements, begins with a bright and lively Allegro. A slow and lyrical “Amoroso” follows, succeeded by a fast and rhythmic finale.

Zhou Tian

I. Allegro
Performed Live by Dover Quartet. ©All Rights Reserved.

II. Amoroso
Performed Live by Dover Quartet. ©All Rights Reserved.

III. Allegro con brio
Performed Live by Dover Quartet. ©All Rights Reserved.


© Copyright Zhou Tian / Zhou Tian Music
All rights reserved